#bookadayuk – 1. A book that made you laugh out loud. AND – 2.Favorite SF/Fantasy novel

BrSTZe4CcAA201w.jpg-large-390x390

So, interesting story, literally SECONDS after I posted last nights blog, I saw on twitter that a new list had been released for July… maybe I’m the last person to find this out but I genuinely didn’t know it was a monthly thing.
Anyway, ignoring last nights blunder, I shall continue, first making up for yesterday with:

1. A book that made you laugh out loud.

… This is actually a hard one, all I can think of is books that made me cry… OK I think I’m going to have to go with The Mediator series, by Meg Cabot. I’m not sure if it’s cheating if I name a series, but I can’t say which of the books specifically made me laugh the MOST so I’m just going to have to say all of them. I’m not sure what it is, it’s not MEANT to be a super funny book or anything, I just think it’s the characters mannerisms and attitude towards things. I’m quite an imaginative reader, so I picture the characters saying the things in my head, or even imagine myself saying them. I think that’s what makes it funny… at least that’s what I find funny anyway.

2. Favorite SF/Fantasy novel.

acrosstheuniverseI’ve only really read one Science fiction based novel and that was Across the Universe by Beth Revis. Sometimes, when reading YA fiction, you find that bits of the story seem to be recycled from other books or plots. That’s why I enjoyed this book so much it seemed so original, at least, it was nothing like any book I’d read before anyway. The author had me feeling emotions for the characters from the first page… I may have cried a little, but this only made me want to read it more. I raved about this book for about a month after I read it, but did anyone listen?

Nope.

I’m not going to go into too much detail about the plot, it would defeat the whole point of reading it for yourself but basically:
The book alternates between the POV of the two main characters, Amy and Elder. The story is set on this ship called Godspeed, apparently, earth had the technology to create a huge ship which could be sent into space, to a planet which is 300 years away.
Amy is one of the cryogenically frozen people on the ship, sent to colonize the new planet, but her Cyro chamber is unplugged 50 years before schedule and she nearly dies! (OMG).
Elder is the next in line to be “Eldest”, the leader of the people on Godspeed, but he becomes suspicious when certain secrets about Godspeed and it’s mission are revealed!

Seriously though, ignoring my poor attempt at hyping it up, it is a pretty good book.

3 thoughts on “#bookadayuk – 1. A book that made you laugh out loud. AND – 2.Favorite SF/Fantasy novel

  1. I love the Mediator series. One of my favorite Meg Cabot series and one of my favorite series of all time. I love Jesse (swoons). Across the Universe was good, as well, but I think my favorite Science Fiction novel would be the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

    • Jesse is my favorite male hero in all the YA books I’ve read so far (after Michael from The Princess Diaries) so I definitely swoon over him too!
      I’ve actually never read Hitchhiker’s Guide, though my physics teacher recomended it to me in school. I might have to give it a go!

      • Yes, Meg Cabot has created a lot of my favorite male heroes! Micheal is definitely swoon worthy, and so is John from her Abandon series.
        Yes, you should! It’s hilarious, very witty and zany.

Leave a Reply

