#BookadayUK 5,6,7 & 8

image

I am aware that I am 4 days behind… I’m new to this, give me a break.

5. Most delicious novel about food.

I was actually trying to put this one off because I don’t think I’ve ever read a novel that is ABOUT food… I don’t even think I know any novels that are about food that I haven’t read! So I’m going to have to miss this one out. Maybe I’ll try and read a book about food in the future sometime, I don’t know.

6. Book I put down to watch the Wimbledon tennis final.

Truth be told, I didn’t watch the tennis final… sorry. But I can tell you the book I put down in order to watch “The Loony Tunes Show” on boomerang.

2166968

Around The World In 80 Days – Jules Verne.

I bought this book a couple of weeks ago when I was in Cork. We found this book shop that were basically giving away classic titles so I picked up this one along with “Five weeks in a balloon”, also by Jules Verne.

I’m enjoying it quite a lot so far, sometimes I find “old” novels quite hard to get into because of the writing style, but this isn’t so bad. The version I have (Wordsworth Classics) contains notes at the back with a glossary of jargon used in the book which may not be fully understood today (quite often references to the media at the time of writing).

7. Most chocolaty novel.

National Chocolate day…? What?! I didn’t even know that was a thing!
Anyway, there is really only one book I could possibly pick for this one.

Charlie_and_the_chocolate_factory

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl.

I absolutely loved this book when I was younger, and I was also a big fan of the movie too. Myself and my best friend at the time, made up a pretty intense routine to “I’ve got a golden ticket” in my back garden one summer, it involved two slides, a swing, a trampoline and a table.

Obviously the book is quite chocolaty since it is about a chocolate factory. I think my copy even has a chocolaty smudge where I read it whilst eating a Fredo!

8. Favorite ‘Great War’ novel.

This has hands down got to be:

Private Peaceful despecced

Private Peaceful – Michael Morpurgo

I mean… I can’t even describe this book, it’s beautiful. From the way it’s written, right down to each character, it’s just… wow.
My year 8 English teacher made us read it in class and I just remember our teacher reading the last chapter to us out loud whilst the whole class just sat there in utter silence. And then when he finished, half of us were openly crying whilst the other half just slumped down onto the table in despair.
As a rule, I don’t generally read books that I know will make me sad or have made me really sad before. For example, I have no intention to read ‘My Sister’s Keeper’ any time soon, nor shall I re-read ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ ever again. This is simply because I like reading to be something I enjoy, not something which makes me want to curl up into a ball for the next week. (Although, I have read a number of very sad books, but that is through sheer luck rather than seeking them out intentionally.) Private Peaceful however, goes against my rule. Despite knowing that when it comes to the end, I will either be fighting back tears or hyperventilating, I will probably continue to keep this book as a favourite and one which I will constantly re-read, for quite some time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

